A mixed cultured December - Reisverslag uit Kirbyville, Verenigde Staten van Iris Bastiaansen - WaarBenJij.nu A mixed cultured December - Reisverslag uit Kirbyville, Verenigde Staten van Iris Bastiaansen - WaarBenJij.nu

A mixed cultured December

Door: Iris Bastiaansen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Iris

31 December 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Kirbyville

For me Thanksgiving was something new. We didn’t had the typical filled turkey but we had a cut up turkey with a special stuffing on the side. I had made dutch winter meal and I knew immediately why it was my least favorite food. We did not have the nasi spices to give it a better flavor, but luckily there was still good food. And because we had the christmas tree up we got immediately into the Christmas spirit.
On the last Saturday of the holiday we were to Christmas in the park and we went to watch a fireworks show.

Everyone in the Netherlands knows, of course, what the date December 5 means Sinterklaas!! I just woke up and got a text if I could Skype with home, because Wessel did not wait until the evening so we did it all in the morning (afternoon there). In the afternoon I had a Christmas party / lunch with all the exchange students from my local coordinator. I made apple turnovers a quarter was burnt but fortunately we had more good once than bad once. It took a little longer than we expected but luckely Celina lives just 10 minutes from here and so we could leave a little later. After visiting walmart we went home and celebrated Sinterklaas with the Simmons. We all had written a poem and presents bought for the person we had drawn. Even Will had more than roses are red, violets are blue, because we had forbidden him to use it. It was a fun evening.

After the break we started the last few weeks of the school year in 2015. During these weeks we did not do much. As I said in one of my first blogs I had to make my US history exam. This was quite difficult I would be surprised if I passed it, because half of the questions I really had no idea what they were talking about or didn't know the words.

On Friday after school packed my bags so we could on Saturday morning bound for the West. We arrived after 6 hour drive finally at the parents of Tracie. Sunday I went to church with them and in the afternoon Will suggested that we go to the mall. So we could get out of the house. The next morning we went through Dallas on the way home.

Tuesday I had been cozy to Celina and Jasmin in the evening with the idea to play tennis, after tennis had watched two movies and we were all fallen asleep on the bench during the third film. It was also a nice sleepover.

December 23 we were allowed to open an early Christmas gift. It were tickets to go that evening to The Blue man group!! This was so great they did not speak throughout the show and so it does not matter what language you speak and you can still understand it. There was just a melody and everyone started clapping, and I really had no idea what she played was apparently the Deep in the heart of Texas.

On Christmas Eve we went to Newton to look at a light display in an electric train. We stayed up until after 12 A.M. playing Monopoly. When it was finally Christmas morning we were allowed to open our presents and stockings. What had we been looking forward to this.

Now it is the last night of 2015!! Today we went to the movies, the film was Daddy's home. I also had a quick few oliebollen, (this is a dutch new years tradition) and I do think everybody liked it!
I end my last blog in 2015. although we still have to wait a little longer until the new year but I say to all a happy new year!!

  • 01 Januari 2016 - 10:54

    Pieter:

    Happy New Year Iris. The Oliebollen looked really good. I hope you and the family enjoyed this Dutch tradition.

  • 02 Mei 2016 - 18:52

    Anne:

    JAA JIJ HAD OLLIEBOLLEN! Ze zagen er echt heel erg lekker uit Iris (bedenk mij dit zeggen in het engels, weet je wel YRIS, geen idee hoe ik het moet schrijven zodat je weet hoe ik het uitspreekt.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Kirbyville

Iris

Blog about my exchange year in Kiryville

Actief sinds 30 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 191
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3578

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2015 - 30 November -0001

Exchange year

Landen bezocht: