First month from home - Reisverslag uit Kirbyville, Verenigde Staten van Iris Bastiaansen - WaarBenJij.nu First month from home - Reisverslag uit Kirbyville, Verenigde Staten van Iris Bastiaansen - WaarBenJij.nu

First month from home

Door: Iris Bastiaansen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Iris

19 September 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Kirbyville

This week I'm already a month in America! This month went by so fast. Maybe this is because everything is still so exiting and new. But I do start to notice the little things like going to school, volleyball competitions where we to go by bus it all starts to become a little bit more normal. But every time think about all of it once again, it is so very special to experience this. Here below you can read more about my time here in Call/Kirbyville.

When we went on our way home we went first some half past one at the Walmart because yes that is still open as usual. And people are still filling the stocks. Eventually we were around 2 a.m at home and then I finally went to sleep after a day of waiting waiting and even more waiting.
On Monday we went to school for my registration and I had to choose my subjects.
I'm as 16 years old placed in 12th grade in other words, I am a senior!!! The subjects I have are PHS ((principals of human services) I still do not know what we have to teach), then I am in English IV Honors. After English, I have a class where I take US history and Math Models on a computer. And personally I also really wanted to follow Spanish because I've never had Spanish. I sit a class where I'm the only senior. But I notice that I have some things like the alphabet are easier for me because the alphabet is almost the same as the Dutch but there are a few things different of course. And then it's finally time for lunchbreak. After the break I have algebra 2 it is like mathematics in the Netherlands and but then in English what makes it hard. After that I go to anatomy this is biology but without the bees and flowers how we say it in The Netherlands. And last real subject is economics. It's not the hardest subject because I had it all already in the 3rd grade of high school, but because all terms are in english it is a lot harder. I have with almost all subjects often than I would like to answer a question, I only don't know the words. But I do know the Dutch words for it.

On Friday, August 28th, I had my first volleyball game, and after my game we went straight through to the football game. What happens alot during those games!! Every where you look there is something happening.

During labor day were we went shopping and bowling I had the first game won with 104 points, Will was 2nd and Paige got the 3rd place and Tracie was last. In the second game I thought it was so nice to let Will win because he finally had taken his own bowling.

At school we are three exchange students, the other two are both German girls. I sit with Cara together in english IV honors and anatomy. She is also on JV volleyball.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Kirbyville

Iris

Blog about my exchange year in Kiryville

Actief sinds 30 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 127
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3575

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2015 - 30 November -0001

Exchange year

Landen bezocht: